The Last Road

Living every day like it's the last… because one day, it will be.

Well fuck…

Posted by Rystefn on June 25, 2008

So, to continue the saga of the unexpected medical bills, it seems I’ve been invited politely to not return to work. I’ve been trying to rework the numbers, and it looks bad. Not hopeless, exactly, but bad. Luckily, I’m not entirely without recourse. As I’ve said before, I’m a bit of a collector, and If I start looking, I’m certain I could find sufficient buyers to raise a fair amount of cash – if time remains. Also, I’m a bit of an artist. I’ve sold the odd piece here and there in my life, and I think that could take a bit of the edge off here. I’ve got nothing ready for sale, unfortunately, at this time, but I could do a piece in a day or two if I really put the hammer down on it, meaning I’d have a couple by Monday which I could put for immediate sale and use those as well as previous work not for sale to stir up some small amount of interest…

I just don’t know. There’s not much I’d be unwilling to do if it comes to the wire, really, but the options are limited for someone in my position. It never rains, but it pours. I’m sure I’ll work something out here, but I can’t help wishing all of this had come around during one of the times in my life when I was wealthy. It’s kind of a strange thing to say – maybe the sort of thing only I would say, but the timing could have been better, yeah?

Well, truth be told, I can think of worse ways I could be spending my time just now than making art, and there’s a decent chance I’d have done a few pieces anyway… I just tend to prefer doing things on my own terms, you know? It’s too bad I’m not psychic – I could surely use a piece of that Paranormal Challenge money right about now…

Leave a Reply

 
