The Last Road

Living every day like it's the last… because one day, it will be.

My Basic Outlook on Life

Posted by Rystefn on October 29, 2012

Since I wrote my last post, and more specifically, since I wound up talking (read: arguing with people who think it’s evil) about the subject quite a bit over at the Slyme Pit forum, I’ve gotten a fair few “warnings” from people that actions have consequences. Usually in the form of “I’m not saying I’d do anything, but some people flip out and kill people over that” variety. Never mind that some people flip out and kill people over all kinds of stupid shit, and you’d be a paranoid freak if you never did anything someone might in theory flip out and kill you over. People get killed for cutting people off in traffic, for sleeping with people of the same sex, or different colors… Hell, people get killed for someone else who happens to be from the same country (or near enough) drawing a picture of Mohammad.

I just don’t have the time or energy spend my whole life worrying about that kind of nonsense. I refuse to hide under a rock from every danger, and I refuse to give control of my life over to those who think that violence is the solution to all of life’s little annoyances. Will that shorten my life? Maybe, but it’s not as likely as people seem to think. I say now what I’ve always said: When given the choice between living long and living well, I’ll choose living well every time.

I eat red meat and pie. I drink rum and whiskey. I run barefoot on the grass and swim naked in the sea. I dance like no one’s watching, sing like no one’s listening, and have sex without a thought for anyone who isn’t in the room with us. I live every day like it’s my last because one day I’ll be right, and when I die, my tombstone will say “It was worth it!”

Does that make me a shameless hedonist? Maybe. Does that make me a bad person? I can’t imagine how anyone could make that argument. I’ve seen them try, but it never holds water. I’ve seen everything from calling me a wannabe revolutionary to calling me a sociopath. What I’ve never seen is anything resembling a rational argument.

There are those who call me selfish, and I can’t argue against it except to say “so?” I will go out of my way to help people, even at risk to myself, because I want to live in a world where that’s a thing that people do. I won’t deny myself the life I wish to lead to preserve societal norms that I find useless or harmful. Frankly, I think the world would be a better place with more of that sort of selfishness.

2 Responses to “My Basic Outlook on Life”

  1. There’s no reason hedonism cannot be ethically done. As long as you are not specifically forcing any harmful activities on others, then it’s ethical.

    It’s an intrinsic part of humans and pretty much all other animals to behaviourally select FOR pleasure/health/higher-reproductive-success (in other words things that for most people, feel good), and to select AGAINST unpleasant/ill-feeling/causing of bad self esteem/lower attractability(=lower reproductive success) things that feel bad.

  2. Alex said

    “Quarry the granite rock with razors, or moor the vessel with a thread of silk; then may you hope with such keen and delicate instruments as human knowledge and human reason to contend against those giants, the passion and pride of man.”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

